All good things must come to an end

Adrià Fontcuberta
2 min readNov 28, 2018

--

NOTE: This post was first published in my newsletter. Subscribe to receive my posts earlier, right to your inbox 🚀

disclaimer: this newsletter goes full personal. Hopefully, you’ll understand..!

A few facts about me:

  1. December 21st will be my last day at Calidae after a 10 year journey.
  2. I’ve never switched jobs before.
  3. Leaving Calidae is the hardest decision I’ve ever faced.

Why?

tl;dr: I’m leaving because I need a change. After 10 years, I need to step out the comfort zone. Face new challenges, new contexts, environments. Validate what I do, what I know, what I think.

As Xavier Aymerich said to me wisely, I was probably burnt out, and that was only on me.

Grateful

Yes, yes, yes. “I’m thankful to everybody, you’ve been so lovely! *does a heart with his hands*”.

But I truly am. And I could be grateful for a gazillion things, but let me focus on the last one. Everyone at Calidae was so supportive when I told them I was leaving. Everyone told me it was a good call, and that I should pursue new goals and challenges. I was able to speak freely, to communicate my intentions to everyone, face to face, and get understanding in return. That is invaluable and says a lot about the people that creates Calidae.

Calidae has been great. Naaah, forget that. Calidae is great. We’ve accomplished so much together, and I couldn’t be prouder of my colleagues.

It’s been an amazing ride and I enjoyed every step of it.

Next steps

In January I’m starting at HolaLuz.

In English, HiLight.

In Emoji, 👋💡.

Why?

Mainly, I got inspired by their mission (should I say our? Sheeeeit, this is gonna be hard) and the challenges they (we) are facing.

HolaLuz is committed to transforming the energy sector. They (we) sell electricity that is from 100% renewable sources and help their (our) customers tailor its consumption depending on power needs.

As they (we) state, “Green energy isn’t just an option; is the solution.

Also, it seemed like a cool, psychologically safe place to work. I saw a customer-first approach. I saw enthusiasm, a positive attitude, room for autonomy, and willingness to improve.

I’m excited about getting out the comfort zone, getting to work with new people, and learning from them!

If I don’t change jobs again in a couple of weeks, expect a useful newsletter next time 😂.

NOTE: This post was first published in my newsletter. Subscribe to receive my posts earlier, right to your inbox 🚀

--

--

Adrià Fontcuberta

Words matter – Software product development, Front-end, UX, design, lean, agile and everything in between. https://afontcu.dev